MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT #505 (Parkland College)

Counties of Champaign, Coles, Dewitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Livingston, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt, Vermilion, and State of Illinois

August 19, 2024

ROLL CALL

The Meeting was called to order by James Voyles, Chair, at 5:01 p.m. The meeting was held electronically via Teams and in Room U325, 2400 W. Bradley, Champaign, Illinois. At the direction of Chair Voyles, Krystal S. Garrett, Assistant to the President/Board of Trustees, called the roll of members of the Board. The following Trustees were present: Maureen Banks, Jarrett Clem, Carolyn Ragsdale, Jaden Campbell (Student Trustee), and James Voyles. Also present was President Pamela Lau. Trustees Ayers was absent; Trustee Green joined the meeting at 5:03 p.m. Trustee Ayers joined the meeting at 5:20 p.m.

It was moved by Dr. Banks and seconded by Mr. Clem to allow Trustee Ayers to attend the meeting electronically via due to personal illness; and to allow Trustee Trimble to attend the meeting electronically via due to family illness.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Banks, Clem, Green, Ragsdale, Campbell (Advisory Vote), and Voyles; NAYS—None; ABSTAIN—Trimble; ABSENT—Ayers.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

The Chairman opened the floor for public comments.

There were no public comments.

CLOSED SESSION

It was moved by Dr. Banks and seconded by Ms. Ragsdale to go into Closed Session for the purpose of discussing the following topics:

- 1. Appointment, employment, compensation, resignation, or performance of specific employees.
- 2. Collective negotiating matters between the public body and its employees or their representatives, or deliberations concerning salary schedules for one or more classes of employees.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Banks, Clem, Green, Ragsdale, Trimble, Campbell (Advisory Vote), and Voyles; NAYS—None; ABSENT—Ayers.

The Open Meeting resumed at 7:49 p.m.

CLOSED SESSION AUDIO APPROVAL

It was moved by Dr. Banks and seconded by Mr. Clem to approve the audio recording made of the Executive Session of August 19, 2024 and that the secretary of the Board make provisions for its safe keeping and that it be made available only upon the proper order of the court and a finding by a judge that such audio tape should be released, and that such audio recording will be destroyed 18 months after the date of the meeting if the Board has adopted written minutes of the Executive Session in question.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Banks, Clem, Green, Ragsdale, Trimble, Campbell (Advisory Vote), Voyles; NAYS—None; ABSENT—None.

<u>COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT - PARKLAND ACADEMIC</u> EMPLOYEES

It was moved by Dr. Banks and seconded by Mr. Clem to approve the collective bargaining agreement between the Board of Trustees of Parkland College, Community College District No. 505, and the Parkland Academic Employees Organization, of the period of academic years 2024-2025 through 2026-2027.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Banks, Clem, Green, Ragsdale, Trimble, Campbell (Advisory Vote), Voyles; NAYS—None; ABSENT—None.

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT - PROFESSIONAL SUPPORT STAFF

It was moved by Dr. Banks and seconded by Ms. Ragsdale to approve the collective bargaining agreement between the Board of Trustees of Parkland College, Community College District No. 505, and the Professional Support Staff Association, Local 4776, IFT/AFT-AFL-CIO, for the period of July 1, 2024-June 30, 2027.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Banks, Clem, Green, Ragsdale, Trimble, Campbell (Advisory Vote), Voyles; NAYS—None; ABSENT—None.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Board, it was moved by Mr. Clem and seconded by Dr. Banks for adjournment.

The motion carried by the following vote: AYES—Ayers, Banks, Clem, Green, Ragsdale, Campbell (Advisory Vote), and Voyles; NAYS—None; ABSENT—Trimble.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:53 p.m.		
James Voyles, Chair	Maureen Banks, Secretary	
Board of Trustees	Board of Trustees	